Parents

Annual Report to the School Community

Changed your Details?

Change of Contact Details - Please only fill in the changes required

5 + 7 =

Parents are welcome to scan and e-mail medical plans to enrolments@oakleighsouthps.vic.edu.au

Child Safe Standards

Oakleigh South Primary School is committed to the safety and wellbeing of all children and young people. As part of the Victorian Government’s commitment to implementing the recommendations of the Betrayal of Trust report, there is a new regulatory landscape (Ministerial Order No. 870) surrounding child safety, underpinned by new Child Safe Standards. This order came into operation on the 1st of August 2016.

In response to this legislation, Oakleigh South Primary School has developed policies and procedures that aim to keep children and young people safe. The school achieves this by developing a culture of safety through risk management to identify and remove risks of child abuse, policy development and implementation, code of conduct screening, supervision and training, processes for responding to and reporting suspected child abuse and strategies to promote the participation and empowerment of children. The school’s policies can be viewed on-line.

To ensure that everyone is well informed about all relevant information please read the attached documents:

Further information about Child Safe Standards can be found at:

http://www.education.vic.gov.au/about/programs/health/protect/Pages/default.aspx

Oakleigh South Primary School’s commitment to child safety

Oakleigh South Primary School is committed to child safety.

  • We want children to be safe, happy and empowered. We support and respect all children, as well as our staff and volunteers.
  • We are committed to the safety, participation and empowerment of all children.
  • We have zero tolerance of child abuse, and all allegations and safety concerns will be treated very seriously and consistently with our robust policies and procedures.
  • We have legal and moral obligations to contact authorities when we are worried about a child’s safety, which we follow rigorously.
  • Oakleigh South Primary School is committed to preventing child abuse and identifying risks early, and removing and reducing these risks.
  • Oakleigh South Primary School has robust human resources and recruitment practices for all staff and volunteers.
  • Oakleigh South Primary School is committed to regularly training and educating our staff and volunteers on child abuse risks.
  • We support and respect all children, as well as our staff and volunteers. We are committed to the cultural safety of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children, the cultural safety of children from culturally and/or linguistically diverse backgrounds, and to providing a safe environment for children with a disability, and children who are vulnerable.
  • We have specific policies, procedures and training in place that support our leadership team, staff and volunteers to achieve these commitments.

 

 

Contact E-mail for Staff

Click Here for Contact Staff E-mails

Staff E-mail Contacts

Oakleigh South Primary School  oakleighsouthps@edumail.vic.gov.au

Principal

Ron Cantlon  oakleighsouthps@edumail.vic.gov.au 

Assistant Principals

Sue Jackson  jackson.susan.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

Erik Albers  albers.erik.n@edumail.vic.gov.au

Nikki Virtuoso  virtuoso.nicole.b@edumail.vic.gov.au

Business Manager

Jo Chapple   chapple.joanne.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Office Staff

Sarah Van Deursen   vandeursen.sarah.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

Carlyn Backers   backers.carlyn.c@edumail.vic.gov.au

Prep

Team Leader:Jade Freeman   freeman.jade.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

Nikita Collins   collins.nikita.n@edumail.vic.gov.au

Tess Farry   farry.tess.t@edumail.vic.gov.au

Naomi Marsh   marsh.naomi.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Angie Martyn   martyn.angela.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Sarah Rayment   rayment.sarah.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

Megan Reed   reed.megan.m@edumail.vic.gov.au

Year 1

Team Leader: Jess Gray   gray.jessica.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

Natalie Cancino   cancino.gonzalez.natalie.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Rita Charalambous   charalambous.rita.r@edumail.vic.gov.au

Cheyenne Gunning     gunning.cheyenne.c@edumail.vic.gov.au

Melissa Lenehan   lenehan.melissa.m@edumail.vic.gov.au

Nick Morrey   morrey.nicholas.p@edumail.vic.gov.au

Melanie van Delft   vandelft.melanie.m@edumail.vic.gov.au

Year 2

Team Leader: Anthony Savva   savva.anthony.a@edumail.vic.gov.au

Nick Crane   crane.nicholas.o@edumail.vic.gov.au

Jackie Di Siervi   di.siervi.jacklyn.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Siobhan Ilsley   Ilsley.siobhan.m@edumail.vic.gov.au 

Vanessa O’Connor   oconnor.vanessa.v@edumail.vic.gov.au

Amy Philipsen   philipsen.amy.a@edumail.vic.gov.au

Claire Stevenson   stevenson.claire.c@edumail.vic.gov.au

Year 3

Team Leader: Juli Kearney   kearney.julianne.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Ken Benson   benson.kenneth.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Di Dwyer   weisner-dwyer.diane.d@edumail.vic.gov.au

Jan Presnell   presnell.jan.c@edumail.vic.gov.au

John Rice   rice.john.w@edumail.vic.gov.au

Jenny Smith   smith.jenny.a@edumail.vic.gov.au

Murray Wilde   wilde.murray.t@edumail.vic.gov.au

Year 4

Team Leader: Tony Muir   muir.anthony.r@edumail.vic.gov.au

Kelly Hall    hall.kelly.s@edumail.vic.gov.au

Nigel Hooley   hooley.nigel.w@edumail.vic.gov.au

Diane Kassiotis   kassiotis.diane.d@edumail.vic.gov.au

Kirwan Peluso   peluso.kirwan.k@edumail.vic.gov.au

Anita Salems   salems.anita.a@edumail.vic.gov.au

Geoff Zielin   zielin.geoffrey.e@edumail.vic.gov.au


Year 5

Team Leader: Evert Eykman   eykman.evert.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

Lisa Goudie   donald.lisa.c@edumail.vic.gov.au

Nadine Kingsley   greeno.nadine.n@edumail.vic.gov.au

Kate Mallet   mallett.kate.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

Helen Paroukas   paroukas.helen.h@edumail.vic.gov.au

Maria Sakellaris   sakellaris.maria.ms@edumail.vic.gov.au


Year 6

Team Leader: Anthony Rowe   rowe.anthony.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Simonne Marsden   marsden.simonne.s@edumail.vic.gov.au

Chris Roth   roth.chris.c@edumail.vic.gov.au

Catherine Sangster   sangster.catherine.c@edumail.vic.gov.au

Fiona Wells   wells.fiona.f@edumail.vic.gov.au

 

Music

Years 4 – 6 Lemone Meyer   meyer.lemone.m@edumail.vic.gov.au

Years 4 – 6 Elaine Wilkinson  wilkinson.elaine.n@edumail.vic.gov.au

Prep – Year 3 Jenny Barnard   barnard.jennifer.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

 

P.E

Year 2-6 Marcus Mooney  mooney.marcus.d@edumail.vic.gov.au

Prep, Year 1 Mick McMahon   mcmahon.michael.t@edumail.vic.gov.au

 

Art

Rochelle Hunt  hunt.rochelle.r@edumail.vic.gov.au

 

Japanese

Mami Martin  martin.mami.m@edumail.vic.gov.au

Sumika Ranjitkumar  ranjitkumar.sumika.s@edumail.vic.gov.au

Emis Wintersea wintersea.enis.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

 

Specialist Staff

Trina Crimmins   crimmins.trina.t@edumail.vic.gov.au

John Crane  crane.john.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Kim Kerr   kerr.kim.k@edumail.vic.gov.au

Kate Mallett   mallett.kate.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

Julie McCormack   mccormack.julie.V@edumail.vic.gov.au

Sue Thompson   thompson.susan.m1@edumail.vic.gov.au

Enis Wintersea   wintersea.enis.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

 

ES Staff

Sally Bahnsen   bahnsen.sally.s@edumail.vic.gov.au

Brad Cantlon   cantlon.brad.b@edumail.vic.gov.au

Penelope Cato   cato.penelope.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Dawn Charles  charles.dawn.d@edumail.vic.gov.au

Joan Healy  healy.joan.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Helen James  james.helen.h@edumail.vic.gov.au

Janet Wilkin  wilkin.janet.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

Hayley McAlinden mcalinden.hayley.p@edumail.vic.gov.au

Flexibuzz & QKR!

OSPS uses Flexibuzz for important school announcements and Qkr! for online payments for camps/excursions/purchasing etc. Every OSPS family will need to download Flexibuzz & Qkr! onto their phones, tablets, laptops or PCs.

At the beginning of each school year, it is vital that each famiy accurately register the correct students and the correct class and year level to ensure they are receiving timely information, and making payments for the correct student.

Lunch Service

The school is using the services of CLASSROOM CUISINE to provide Student Lunches every MONDAY and FRIDAY.
Orders must be completed and paid for ONLINE before 8.30 am SHARP on the day required.

OSHC Camp Australia

Oakleigh South Primary School Council have engaged CAMP AUSTRALIA to manage all aspects of the school’s OSHC, including Before, After and Holiday Care.

Out of Hours Services

Oakleigh South Primary School venue is host to a variety of service providers. Please note that service providers are not managed or run by Oakleigh South Primary School, they hire our venue. Please use the link to find out further information to get in touch with their service.

Auskick – Oakleigh

www.aflauskick.com.au

Balmoral Calisthenics

www.balmoral.asn.au

Chesskids

https://www.chessclub.com.au/ormond.html

Cricket – Clayton District

www.claytondistrictcc.vic.cricket.com.au

Fit for Kids – Tennis & Golf

www.fitforkidsco.com.au

G.K.R Karate

https://www.gkrkarate.com/indexr4/HOME/-/-/-/8

International School of Japanese

www.misj.org.au

Jewish R.E – United Jewish Education Board

www.ujeb.org.au

Oakleigh Dragons Football Krushers

www.oakleighdragons.org.au

Oakleigh South Netball Club Oakleigh Jets U11’s

https://osnc.com.au/schedule/jets-11/

Pilates – Ricki Eckhous

www.facebook.com/pilateswithricki/

Purple Dog Mosaics

www.purpledog.com.au

Soccer – Grasshopper Soccer

www.grasshoppersoccer.com.au

The Music School – Keyboard & Guitar

www.themusicschool.com.au

 

 

Parent Group

All parents are welcome to be involved with their children’s education and the Parent Group provides an opportunity for members to work together to further the interests of their children by:

  • Encouraging social interaction among parents and families.
  • Providing resources and facilities for the pupils through fundraising activities

Examples of the wonderful social events and fundraising events organised by parent group are:

  • Prep Welcome BBQ
  • Outdoor Movie Night
  • Easter Hamper Raffle
  • Fete Craft / Mother’s Day Stall
  • Family Night Out – i.e Inflatable World
  • Father’s Day Breakfast (proceeds donated to charity)
  • Trivia Night
  • School Disco
  • Giving Tree (donated to Salvation Army)
  • Christmas Stall

Meetings are advertised in the school newsletter, however we also have a large team of helpers that assist during events and fundraisers who do not attend meetings. Please feel free to contact us if you’d like to find out further information.

Carlyn Backers

Parent Group

osparentgroup67@gmail.com

Policies

Oakleigh South Primary School has developed policies in line with department regulations. They have all been approved by School Council. The following policies are available for your perusal at the office: External Providers Policy, Duty of Care Policy & Procedures, Administration of Medication Policy, Critical incident Plan Policy, Accidents & Incidental Reporting Policy, Working with Children Check Policy. The following policies are available via the links below:

Acceptable Use Agreement OSPS

Anaphylaxis Management Policy OSPS

Bullying and Harassment Policy OSPS

Computers and Mobile Device Policy OSPS

Curriculum Framework Policy OSPS

Dress Code Policy OSPS

eSMART Policy OSPS

Excursions and Camps Policy OSPS

ICT Acceptable Use Policy OSPS

Parent Payment Policy OSPS

Student Engagement & Welfare Policy OSPS

Visitors Policy OSPS

The Department has developed a new Schools’ Privacy Policy and related documents for all Victorian government schools. The new Schools’ Privacy Policy will be implemented over term one of 2018. Please click below for further information. Once ratified by school council, the OSPS policy will be uploaded.
https://www.education.vic.gov.au/Pages/schoolsprivacypolicy.aspx

School Council

School Council Membership 2018

The first meeting for the new “School Council Year” was conducted on Wednesday 25th April. All Office Bearers have been elected and all 15 positions filled. Carlyn Backers is on School Council as a Parent Group Delegate. She will be able to attend all meetings and report on the Parent Group operations. A Schedule 7: School Council Members has been published here.

School Council Elections

School Council Election Results 2019

The PARENT NOMINEES (in alphabetical order) are:

TO BE ANNOUNCED

The DET NOMINEES and successful candidates are:

TO BE ANNOUNCED

TOTAL MEMBERS 2018 15 (Parents 8, DET 5, Community 2)

PARENTS

Sam Diplaris (President)

Kate Liu (Treasurer)

Kate Rawlinson (Secretary)

Carlyn Backers (Parent Group)

Campbell Davies

Margherita Floros

Lindsay Guy

Andrew Holman 

DET

Ron Cantlon (Principal)

Sue Jackson

Erik Albers

Anthony Savva

Julie Kearney

COMMUNITY

Nikki Kaur 

 

 

 

Appendix A: School Council Elections Information for Parents

School Council Elections 2019

WHAT IS A SCHOOL COUNCIL AND WHAT DOES IT DO?

All government schools in Victoria have a school council. They are legally constituted bodies that are given powers to set the key directions of a school within statewide guidelines. In doing this, a school council is able to directly influence the quality of education that the school provides for its students.

Who is on the school council?

For most school councils, there are three possible categories of membership:

  • A mandated elected Parent category – more than one-third of the total members must be from this category. Department of Education and Training (DET) employees can be Parent members at their child’s school as long as they are not engaged in work at the school.
  • A mandated elected DET employee category – members of this category may make up no more than one-third of the total membership of school council. The principal of the school is automatically one of these members.
  • An optional Community member category – members are coopted by a decision of the council because of their special skills, interests or experiences. Department employees are not eligible to be Community members.

Generally, the term of office for all members is two years. The term of office of half the members expires each year, creating vacancies for the annual school council elections.

WHY IS PARENT MEMBERSHIP SO IMPORTANT?

Parents on school councils provide important viewpoints and have valuable skills that can help shape the direction of the school.

Those parents who become active on a school council find their involvement satisfying and may also find that their children feel a greater sense of belonging.

DO I NEED SPECIAL EXPERIENCE TO BE ON SCHOOL COUNCIL?

Each member brings their own valuable life skills and knowledge to the role. Councilors may need to develop skills and acquire knowledge in areas that are unfamiliar to them.  What you do need is an interest in your child’s school and the desire to work in partnership with others to help shape the school’s future.

HOW CAN YOU BECOME INVOLVED?

The most obvious way is to vote in the elections, which are held in Term one each year. However, ballots are only held if more people nominate as candidates than there are positions vacant.

In view of this, you might consider

  • standing for election as a member of the school council
  • encouraging another person to stand for election.

WHAT DO YOU NEED TO DO TO STAND FOR ELECTION?

The principal will issue a Notice of Election and Call for Nominations following the commencement of Term one each year. All school council elections must be completed by the end of March unless the usual time line has been varied by the Minister.

If you decide to stand for election, you can arrange for someone to nominate you as a candidate or you can nominate yourself in the Parent category.

Department employees whose child is enrolled in a school in which they are not engaged in work are eligible to nominate for parent membership of the school council at that school.

Once the nomination form is completed, return it to the principal within the time stated on the Notice of Election. You will receive a Nomination Form Receipt in the mail following the receipt of your completed nomination.

Generally, if there are more nominations received than there are vacancies on council, a ballot will be conducted during the two weeks after the call for nominations has closed.

REMEMBER

  • Ask at the school for help if you would like to stand for election and are not sure what to do
  • Consider standing for election to council this year  
  • Be sure to vote in the elections.

Contact the principal for further information.

SCHEDULE 4: NOTICE OF ELECTION AND CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

An election is to be conducted for members of the school council of Oakleigh South Primary School

Nomination forms may be obtained from the school and must be lodged by 4.00 pm on 25/2/2019  (insert date and year).

The ballot will close at 4.00 pm on 12/3/2019  (insert date and year)

Following the closing of nominations a list of the nominations received will be posted at the school.

The terms of office, membership categories and number of positions in each membership category open for election are as follows:

 

MEMBERSHIP CATEGORY

TERM OF OFFICE

NUMBER OF POSITIONS

Parent member

From the day after the date of the declaration of the poll in 2019, to and inclusive of the date of the declaration of the poll in 2021.

3

DET employee member

From the day after the date of the declaration of the poll in 2019, to and inclusive of the date of the declaration of the poll in 2021.

4

If the number of nominations is less than the number of vacancies, a notice to that effect and calling for further nominations will be posted in a prominent position at the school.

Ron Cantlon
Principal

Term Dates & Bells

Term Dates

2019

Last day of each term is a 2.30pm finish

Term 1: 

29 January (teachers start)

30 January Year 1 – 6 students start

31 January Preps 9.30 – 12.30  (No Wednesdays during February)

Last day of Term 1 is Friday 5 April (2.30pm finish)

Term 2:

23 April  to 28 June

Term 3:

15 July to 20 September

Term 4: 

7 October to 19 December (2.30pm students finish)

20 December ( teachers finish)

Bell Session & Times

8.45am Bag bell

9.00am Start of day bell

9.00am Session 1

9.50am Session 2

10.40am Start of recess bell

11.10am End of recess bell

11.10am Session 3

12.00pm Session 4

12.50pm Lunch eating time bell

1.00pm Start of lunch

1.50pm End of lunch bell

1.50pm Session 5

2.40pm Session 6

3.30pm End of day bell

Uniforms PSW

School Uniforms are provided by Primary School Wear (PSW)

New uniforms can be purchased form their outlet store in Mills Street, Cheltenham or online.

PSW Cheltenham

15 Mills St, Cheltenham VIC 3192 (03) 9768 0332

Uniforms Second Hand

Oakleigh South Primary School parent volunteers run Second Hand Uniform Shop which is located in the junior wing.

If you’d like to volunteer to assist please contact the office. Washed and suitable donations of uniform can be handed in at the office.

Opening hours are: 8.45am to 9.00am on Wednesdays and Fridays.

X