Parents

Changed your Details?

Change of Contact Details - Please only fill in the changes required

10 + 9 =

Parents are welcome to scan and e-mail medical plans to enrolments@oakleighsouthps.vic.edu.au

Child Safe Standards

Oakleigh South Primary School is committed to the safety and wellbeing of all children and young people. As part of the Victorian Government’s commitment to implementing the recommendations of the Betrayal of Trust report, there is a new regulatory landscape (Ministerial Order No. 870) surrounding child safety, underpinned by new Child Safe Standards. This order came into operation on the 1st of August 2016.

In response to this legislation, Oakleigh South Primary School has developed policies and procedures that aim to keep children and young people safe. The school achieves this by developing a culture of safety through risk management to identify and remove risks of child abuse, policy development and implementation, code of conduct screening, supervision and training, processes for responding to and reporting suspected child abuse and strategies to promote the participation and empowerment of children. The school’s policies can be viewed on-line.

To ensure that everyone is well informed about all relevant information please read the attached documents:

Further information about Child Safe Standards can be found at:

http://www.education.vic.gov.au/about/programs/health/protect/Pages/default.aspx

Oakleigh South Primary School’s commitment to child safety

Oakleigh South Primary School is committed to child safety.

  • We want children to be safe, happy and empowered. We support and respect all children, as well as our staff and volunteers.
  • We are committed to the safety, participation and empowerment of all children.
  • We have zero tolerance of child abuse, and all allegations and safety concerns will be treated very seriously and consistently with our robust policies and procedures.
  • We have legal and moral obligations to contact authorities when we are worried about a child’s safety, which we follow rigorously.
  • Oakleigh South Primary School is committed to preventing child abuse and identifying risks early, and removing and reducing these risks.
  • Oakleigh South Primary School has robust human resources and recruitment practices for all staff and volunteers.
  • Oakleigh South Primary School is committed to regularly training and educating our staff and volunteers on child abuse risks.
  • We support and respect all children, as well as our staff and volunteers. We are committed to the cultural safety of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children, the cultural safety of children from culturally and/or linguistically diverse backgrounds, and to providing a safe environment for children with a disability, and children who are vulnerable.
  • We have specific policies, procedures and training in place that support our leadership team, staff and volunteers to achieve these commitments.

 

 

DET Literacy & Numeracy Tips to help your child

Contact E-mail for Staff

Click Here for Contact Staff E-mails

Staff E-mail Contacts

Oakleigh South Primary School oakleigh.south.ps@education.vic.gov.au

Principal

Ron Cantlon oakleigh.south.ps@education.vic.gov.au

Assistant Principals

Sue Jackson (P-1)  sue.jackson@education.vic.gov.au

Nikki Virtuoso (2-3) nikki.virtuoso@education.vic.gov.au

Erik Albers (4-5) erik.albers@education.vic.gov.au

Anthony Rowe (6) anthony.rowe@education.vic.gov.au

Business Manager

Jo Chapple joanne.chapple@education.vic.gov.au

Grounds Manager

Rico Virtuoso rico.virtuoso@education.vic.gov.au

Office Staff

Sarah Van Deursen sarah.vandeursen@education.vic.gov.au

Carlyn Backers carlyn.backers@education.vic.gov.au

Prep

Team Leader:Jade Freeman jade.freeman@education.vic.gov.au

Nikita Collins nikita.collins@education.vic.gov.au

Tess Farry tess.farry@education.vic.gov.au

Stephanie Giabardo stephanie.giabardo@education.vic.gov.au

Naomi Marsh naomi.marsh@education.vic.gov.au

Angie Martyn angela.martyn@education.vic.gov.au

Megan Reed megan.reed@education.vic.gov.au

Year 1

Team Leader: Jess Gray jessica.gray3@education.vic.gov.au

Lauren Di Maio lauren.dimaio@education.vic.gov.au

Cassie Furst cassandra.furst@education.vic.gov.au

Cheyenne Gunning  cheyanne.gunning@education.vic.gov.au

Nicholas Mason-Parker nicholas.mason-parker@education.vic.gov.au

Sarah Rayment sarah.rayment@education.vic.gov.au

Alice MacDonald alice.macdonald@education.vic.gov.au

Year 2

Team Leader: Anthony Savva  anthony.savva@education.vic.gov.au

Gabriella Lema gabriella.lema@education.vic.gov.au

Jackie Di Sierv jacklyn.disiervi@education.vic.gov.au

Siobhan Ilsley siobhan.le@education.vic.gov.au

Amy Philipsen amy.philipsen@education.vic.gov.au

Tayla McArtney tayla.mcartney@education.vic.gov.au

Andy Yueng andy.yeung@education.vic.gov.au

Year 3

Team Leader: Julie Kearney julianne.kearney@education.vic.gov.au

Di Dwyer  diane.weisner-dwyer@education.vic.gov.au

John Rice  john.rice@education.vic.gov.au

Jenny Smith  jenny.smith@education.vic.gov.au

Melissa Toth melissa.toth@education.vic.gov.au

Jan Presnell jan.presnell@education.vic.gov.au

Murray Wilde murray.wilde@education.vic.gov.au

Year 4

Team Leader: Tony Muir tony.muir@education.vic.gov.au

Meg Corbett meghan.corbett@education.vic.gov.au

Fiona Freeman fiona.freeman@education.vic.gov.au

Kelly Hall  kelly.hall@education.vic.gov.au

Diane Kassiotis diane.kassiotis@education.vic.gov.au

Nick Morrey  nicholas.morrey@education.vic.gov.au

Mel Van Delft melanie.vandelft@education.vic.gov.au

Kirsten Whitworth kirsten.whitworth@education.vic.gov.au

Year 5

Team Leader: Helen Paroukas  helen.paroukas@education.vic.gov.au

Nick Crane nicholas.crane@education.vic.gov.au

Lisa Goudie lisa.donald@education.vic.gov.au

Nigel Hooley nigel.hooley@education.vic.gov.au

Nadine Kingsley  nadine.kingsley@education.vic.gov.au

Kirwan Peluso kirwan.peluso@education.vic.gov.au

Maria Sakellaris maria.sakellaris@education.vic.gov.au

Year 6

Team Leader: Anthony Rowe anthony.rowe@education.vic.gov.au

Leon Davies 
Leon.Davey@education.vic.gov.au

Simonne Marsden simonne.marsden@education.vic.gov.au

Chris Roth  chris.roth@education.vic.gov.au

Fiona Wells  fiona.wells@education.vic.gov.au

Geoff Zielin geoffrey.zielin@education.vic.gov.au

 

Performing Arts

Years 4 – 6 Lemone Meyer lemone.meyer@education.vic.gov.au

Years 4 – 6 Elaine Wilkinson elaine.wilkinson@education.vic.gov.au

Prep – Year 3 Jenny Barnard jennifer.barnard@education.vic.gov.au

P.E

Year 2 – 6 Marcus Mooney marcus.mooney@education.vic.gov.au

Prep, Year 1 Mick McMahon michael.mcmahon@education.vic.gov.au

 Art

Rochelle Hunt rochelle.hunt@education.vic.gov.au

Japanese

Mami Martin mami.martin@education.vic.gov.au

Sumiko Ranjitkumar sumiko.ranjitkumar@education.vic.gov.au

Enis Wintersea enis.wintersea@education.vic.gov.au

Digital Technologies

Evert Eykman evert.eykman@education.vic.gov.au

Specialist Staff

Trina Crimmins trina.crimmins@education.vic.gov.au

Kim Kerr  kim.kerr@education.vic.gov.au

Kate Mallett kate.mallett@education.vic.gov.au

Julie McCormack julie.mccormack@education.vic.gov.au

Vanessa O’Connor vanessa.oconnor@education.vic.gov.au

Sue Thompson susan.thompson@education.vic.gov.au

Education Support Staff

Helen Avgeridis helen.avgeridis@education.vic.gov.au

Sally Bahnsen sally.bahnsen@education.vic.gov.au

Brad Cantlon brad.cantlon@education.vic.gov.au

Penelope Cato penelope.cato@education.vic.gov.au

Dawn Charles dawn.charles@education.vic.gov.au

Joel Downey joel.downey@education.vic.gov.au

Georgia Hopkins georgia.hopkins@education.vic.gov.au

Morgan Mathison morgan.mathison@education.vic.gov.au

Hayley McAlinden hayley.mcalinden@education.vic.gov.au

Nicola Morgan nicola.morgan@education.vic.gov.au

Connie Pikardou costantia.pikardou@education.vic.gov.au

Tayla White tayla.white2@education.vic.gov.au

Janet Wilkin janet.wilkin@education.vic.gov.au

 

Lunch Service

The school is using the services of CLASSROOM CUISINE to provide Student Lunches every MONDAY and FRIDAY.
Orders must be completed and paid for ONLINE before 8.30 am SHARP on the day required.

Operoo (formerly CareMonkey) & QKR!

OSPS uses Operoo (formerly CareMonkey) so that parents can receive school information, fill in permission forms, view academic reports and school communications.

Qkr! for online payments for camps/excursions/purchasing etc. At the beginning of each school year, it is vital that each famiy accurately register the correct students and the correct class and year level to ensure they are receiving timely information, and making payments for the correct student.

Every OSPS family will need to download Operoo (formerly CareMonkey) & Qkr! onto their phones, tablets, laptops or PCs.

Any queries please e-mail operoo@oakleighsouthps.vic.gov.au

OSHC Camp Australia

Oakleigh South Primary School Council have engaged CAMP AUSTRALIA to manage all aspects of the school’s OSHC, including Before, After and Holiday Care.


Camp Australia Outside School Hours Care and Holiday Club


Camp Australia Outside School Hours Care and Holiday Club


We are proud to partner with Camp Australia to provide our Outside School Hours Care (OSHC) and Holiday Club programs.

As the most experienced OSHC provider in Australia, Camp Australia provides a safe, reliable, engaging and affordable program at our school, to help families balance time and responsibilities in the crucial times outside school hours – and between terms too.

Camp Australia’s OSHC and Holiday Club programs build on our school values to further your child’s experience and interests, providing time for homework, time to relax, educational activities and a healthy snack.

Click here to find out more about the programs at our school, including hours of operation and fees. To attend care, you must register your child. Register now for free.

Out of Hours Services

Oakleigh South Primary School venue is host to a variety of service providers. Please note that service providers are not managed or run by Oakleigh South Primary School, they hire our venue. Please use the link to find out further information to get in touch with their service.

Auskick – Oakleigh

www.aflauskick.com.au

Balmoral Calisthenics

www.balmoral.asn.au

Chesskids

https://www.chessclub.com.au/ormond.html

Cricket – Clayton District

www.claytondistrictcc.vic.cricket.com.au

Fit for Kids – Tennis & Golf

www.fitforkidsco.com.au

G.K.R Karate

https://www.gkrkarate.com/indexr4/HOME/-/-/-/8

International School of Japanese

www.misj.org.au

Jewish R.E – United Jewish Education Board

www.ujeb.org.au

Oakleigh Dragons Football Krushers

www.oakleighdragons.org.au

Oakleigh South Netball Club Oakleigh Jets U11’s

https://osnc.com.au/schedule/jets-11/

Pilates – Ricki Eckhous

www.facebook.com/pilateswithricki/

Purple Dog Mosaics

www.purpledog.com.au

Soccer – Grasshopper Soccer

www.grasshoppersoccer.com.au

The Music School – Keyboard & Guitar

www.themusicschool.com.au

 

 

Parent Group

All parents are welcome to be involved with their children’s education and the Parent Group provides an opportunity for members to work together to further the interests of their children by:

  • Encouraging social interaction among parents and families.
  • Providing resources and facilities for the pupils through fundraising activities

Examples of the wonderful social events and fundraising events organised by parent group are:

  • Prep Welcome BBQ
  • Outdoor Movie Night
  • Easter Hamper Raffle
  • Fete Craft / Mother’s Day Stall
  • Family Night Out – i.e Inflatable World
  • Father’s Day Breakfast (proceeds donated to charity)
  • Trivia Night
  • School Disco
  • Giving Tree (donated to Salvation Army)
  • Christmas Stall

Meetings are advertised in the school newsletter, however we also have a large team of helpers that assist during events and fundraisers who do not attend meetings. Please feel free to contact us if you’d like to find out further information.

Steph Cash

Parent Group

osparentgroup67@gmail.com

Parent Opinion Survey 

The Parent Opinion Survey is an annual survey offered by the Department of Education and Training that is conducted amongst all parents. It is designed to assist schools in gaining an understanding of parents’ perceptions of school climate, student behaviour, student engagement and this year, experiences of remote and flexible learning. Our school uses the survey results to help inform and direct future school planning and improvement strategies.

The survey is conducted online, only takes 20 minutes to complete, and can be accessed at any convenient time within the fieldwork period on desktop computers, laptops, tablets or smartphones. All responses to the survey are anonymous. The online survey is available in a range of languages other than English. These include: Arabic, Vietnamese, Mandarin, Chin (hakha), Hindi, Japanese, Somali, Turkish, Punjabi and Greek.

Policies

Oakleigh South Primary School has developed policies in line with department regulations. They have all been approved by School Council. The following policies are available for your perusal at the office: External Providers Policy, Duty of Care Policy & Procedures, Administration of Medication Policy, Critical incident Plan Policy, Accidents & Incidental Reporting Policy, Working with Children Check Policy. The following policies are available via the links below:

School Council

Contact School Council

Please e-mail: Attention: School Council
schoolcouncil@oakleighsouthps.vic.edu.au

School Council Membership 2020

The first meeting for the new “School Council Year” was conducted on Wednesday 25th March, 2020

A Schedule 7: School Council Members has been published here.

School Council Elections

School Council Election Results 2020

The PARENT successful candidates (in surname alphabetical order) are:

Andrew Holeman
Nikki Kaur
Jess Li
Adele Mete
Jasma Sutaria

TOTAL MEMBERS AS OF 25th MARCH 2020 (Parents 8, DET 5, Community 2)

PARENTS

Campbell Davies (President)

Kate Liu (Vice President)

Adele Mete (Treasurer)

Jasma Sutaria (Secretary)

Andrew Holman 

Sam Diplaris

Nikki Kaur

Jess Li

DET

Ron Cantlon (Principal)

Nikki Virtuoso

Erik Albers

Anthony Savva

Anthony Rowe

COMMUNITY

Parent Group Rep: Steph Cash

Nadia Beauchamp

Appendix A: School Council Elections Information for Parents

School Council Elections

WHAT IS A SCHOOL COUNCIL AND WHAT DOES IT DO?

All government schools in Victoria have a school council. They are legally constituted bodies that are given powers to set the key directions of a school within statewide guidelines. In doing this, a school council is able to directly influence the quality of education that the school provides for its students.

Who is on the school council?

For most school councils, there are three possible categories of membership:

  • A mandated elected Parent category – more than one-third of the total members must be from this category. Department of Education and Training (DET) employees can be Parent members at their child’s school as long as they are not engaged in work at the school.
  • A mandated elected DET employee category – members of this category may make up no more than one-third of the total membership of school council. The principal of the school is automatically one of these members.
  • An optional Community member category – members are coopted by a decision of the council because of their special skills, interests or experiences. Department employees are not eligible to be Community members.

Generally, the term of office for all members is two years. The term of office of half the members expires each year, creating vacancies for the annual school council elections.

WHY IS PARENT MEMBERSHIP SO IMPORTANT?

Parents on school councils provide important viewpoints and have valuable skills that can help shape the direction of the school.

Those parents who become active on a school council find their involvement satisfying and may also find that their children feel a greater sense of belonging.

DO I NEED SPECIAL EXPERIENCE TO BE ON SCHOOL COUNCIL?

Each member brings their own valuable life skills and knowledge to the role. Councilors may need to develop skills and acquire knowledge in areas that are unfamiliar to them.  What you do need is an interest in your child’s school and the desire to work in partnership with others to help shape the school’s future.

HOW CAN YOU BECOME INVOLVED?

The most obvious way is to vote in the elections, which are held in Term one each year. However, ballots are only held if more people nominate as candidates than there are positions vacant.

In view of this, you might consider

  • standing for election as a member of the school council
  • encouraging another person to stand for election.

WHAT DO YOU NEED TO DO TO STAND FOR ELECTION?

The principal will issue a Notice of Election and Call for Nominations following the commencement of Term one each year. All school council elections must be completed by the end of March unless the usual time line has been varied by the Minister.

If you decide to stand for election, you can arrange for someone to nominate you as a candidate or you can nominate yourself in the Parent category.

Department employees whose child is enrolled in a school in which they are not engaged in work are eligible to nominate for parent membership of the school council at that school.

Once the nomination form is completed, return it to the principal within the time stated on the Notice of Election. You will receive a Nomination Form Receipt in the mail following the receipt of your completed nomination.

Generally, if there are more nominations received than there are vacancies on council, a ballot will be conducted during the two weeks after the call for nominations has closed.

REMEMBER

  • Ask at the school for help if you would like to stand for election and are not sure what to do
  • Consider standing for election to council this year
  • Be sure to vote in the elections.

Contact the principal for further information.

Ron Cantlon
Principal

Term Dates & Bells

Term Dates

 

2020

Last day of each term is a 2.30pm finish

Term 1: 

28 January (teachers start)

29 January Year 1 – 6 students start

30 January Preps 9.30 – 12.30  (No Wednesdays during February)

Last day of Term 1 is Friday 27 March (2.30pm finish)

Term 2:

14 April  to 26 June

Term 3:

13 July to 18 September

Term 4: 

5 October to 18 December (2.30pm students finish)

19 December ( teachers finish)

Bell Session & Times

8.45am Bag bell

9.00am Start of day bell

9.00am Session 1

9.50am Session 2

10.40am Start of recess bell

11.10am End of recess bell

11.10am Session 3

12.00pm Session 4

12.50pm Lunch eating time bell

1.00pm Start of lunch

1.50pm End of lunch bell

1.50pm Session 5

2.40pm Session 6

3.30pm End of day bell

Uniforms PSW

School Uniforms are provided by Primary School Wear (PSW)

New uniforms can be purchased form their outlet store in Mills Street, Cheltenham or online.

PSW Cheltenham

15 Mills St, Cheltenham VIC 3192 (03) 9768 0332

Uniforms Second Hand

Oakleigh South Primary School parent volunteers run Second Hand Uniform Shop which is located in the junior wing.

If you’d like to volunteer to assist please contact the office. Washed and suitable donations of uniform can be handed in at the office.

Opening hours are: 8.45am to 9.00am on Wednesdays and Fridays.

Whole School Reports

h

Oakleigh South Primary School Annual Implementation Plan 2020 – COMING

X