Parents

Annual Report to the School Community

Assembly DVD Purchasing

John Crane is once again filming all the assemblies for 2017. A DVD of each assembly will be available to purchase on QKR for $5.
To order a DVD, please head to QKR and under the ‘Specialist Charges’ tab, assemblies are listed according to the date they were held. Orders MUST be in the Friday after the assembly you wish to purchase.
Please allow 2 weeks for your DVD to be delivered to your child. Any issues please contact Karen Hall in the Office.

Changed your Details?

Change of Contact Details - Please only fill in the changes required

1 + 7 =

Parents are welcome to scan and e-mail medical plans to enrolments@oakleighsouthps.vic.edu.au

Contact E-mail for Staff

Click Here for Contact Staff E-mails

Staff E-mail Contacts

Oakleigh South Primary School  oakleighsouthps@edumail.vic.gov.au

Principal

Ron Cantlon  oakleighsouthps@edumail.vic.gov.au 


Assistant Principals

Sue Jackson  jackson.susan.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

Erik Albers  albers.erik.n@edumail.vic.gov.au

Nikki Virtuoso  virtuoso.nicole.b@edumail.vic.gov.au


Business Manager

Jo Chapple  chapple.joanne.j@edumail.vic.gov.au


Office Staff

Sarah Van Deursen  vandeursen.sarah.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

Karen Hall  hall.karen.a@edumail.vic.gov.au


Prep

Team Leader: Anthony Savva  savva.anthony.a@edumail.vic.gov.au

Amelia Delaney  delaney.amelia.a@edumail.vic.gov.au

Jade Freeman  freeman.jade.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

Emma Hainsworth  hainsworth.emma.k@edumail.vic.gov.au

Simonne Marsden  marsden.simonne.s@edumail.vic.gov.au

Amy Philipsen  philipsen.amy.a@edumail.vic.gov.au

Sarah Rayment  rayment.sarah.e@edumail.vic.gov.au


Year 1

Team Leader: Jess Gray  gray.jessica.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

Kirsten Brown  toole.kirsten.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

Nick Crane  crane.nicholas.o@edumail.vic.gov.au

Melissa Lenehan  lenehan.melissa.m@edumail.vic.gov.au

Maddy Morrison  morrison.madeleine.l@edumail.vic.gov.au

Jess Kohinga  kohinga.jessica.l@edumail.vic.gov.au

Emily McElhinney  mcelhinney.emily.c@edumail.vic.gov.au


Year 2

Team Leader: Michelle Richardson  richardson.michelle.m@edumail.vic.gov.au

Natalie Cancino  cancino.gonzalez.natalie.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Jackie Di Siervi  di.siervi.jacklyn.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Kelly Hall  hall.kelly.s@edumail.vic.gov.au

Siobhan Ilsley  lsley.siobhan.m@edumail.vic.gov.au

Nick Morrey  morrey.nicholas.p@edumail.vic.gov.au

Vanessa O’Connor  oconnor.vanessa.v@edumail.vic.gov.au

Megan Reed  reed.megan.m@edumail.vic.gov.au

Geoff Zielin  zielin.geoffrey.e@edumail.vic.gov.au


Year 3

Team Leader: Juli Kearney  kearney.julianne.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Di Dwyer  weisner-dwyer.diane.d@edumail.vic.gov.au

Kim Kerr  kerr.kim.k@edumail.vic.gov.au

Jan Presnell  presnell.jan.c@edumail.vic.gov.au

Jenny Smith  smith.jenny.a@edumail.vic.gov.au

Murray Wilde  wilde.murray.t@edumail.vic.gov.au


Year 4

Team Leader: Tony Muir  muir.anthony.r@edumail.vic.gov.au

Lyne Barge  barge.lynette.m@edumail.vic.gov.au

Anita Salems  salems.anita.a@edumail.vic.gov.au

Diane Kassiotis  kassiotis.diane.d@edumail.vic.gov.au

Angie Martyn  martyn.angela.j@edumail.vic.gov.au


Year 5

Team Leader: Helen Paroukas  paroukas.helen.h@edumail.vic.gov.au

Matt Barker  barker.matthew.p@edumail.vic.gov.au

Evert Eykman  eykman.evert.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

Nadine Kingsley  greeno.nadine.n@edumail.vic.gov.au

Maria Sakellaris  sakellaris.maria.ms@edumail.vic.gov.au


Year 6

Team Leader: Anthony Rowe  rowe.anthony.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Sean Alston  alston.sean.s@edumail.vic.gov.au

Jan Flatt  flatt.jan.k@edumail.vic.gov.au

Chris Roth  roth.chris.c@edumail.vic.gov.au

Catherine Sangster  sangster.catherine.c@edumail.vic.gov.au

Fiona Wells  wells.fiona.f@edumail.vic.gov.au


Music

Years 2, 5, 6 Elaine Wilkinson  wilkinson.elaine.n@edumail.vic.gov.au

Years 2, 5, 6 Christian Meyer  meyer.christian.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Years 2, 5, 6 Lemone Meyer  meyer.lemone.m@edumail.vic.gov.au

Years 3, 4 Jenny Barnard  barnard.jennifer.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Year 1 Naomi Marsh  marsh.naomi.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Prep Stacey Lolas  lolas.stacey.a@edumail.vic.gov.au


P.E

Year 2-6 Marcus Mooney  mooney.marcus.d@edumail.vic.gov.au

Prep, Year 1 Stacey Lolas  lolas.stacey.a@edumail.vic.gov.au


Art

Rochelle Hunt  hunt.rochelle.r@edumail.vic.gov.au

Sue Thompson  thompson.susan.m1@edumail.vic.gov.au


Japanese

Mami Martin  martin.mami.m@edumail.vic.gov.au

Sumika Ranjitkumar  ranjitkumar.sumika.s@edumail.vic.gov.au

Naomi Marsh  marsh.naomi.j@edumail.vic.gov.au


Support Staff

Sally Bahnsen  bahnsen.sally.s@edumail.vic.gov.au

Nathan Beaumont  beaumont.nathan.n@edumail.vic.gov.au

Brad Cantlon  cantlon.brad.b@edumail.vic.gov.au

Lyn Cantlon  cantlon.lynette.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Dawn Charles  charles.dawn.d@edumail.vic.gov.au

John Crane  crane.john.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Trina Crimmins  crimmins.trina.t@edumail.vic.gov.au

Joan Healy  healy.joan.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Mary Howe  howe.mary.c@edumail.vic.gov.au

Helen James  james.helen.h@edumail.vic.gov.au

Kate Mallett  mallett.kate.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

Julie McCormack  mccormack.julie.V@edumail.vic.gov.au

Rob McGirr  mcgirr.robert.r@edumail.vic.gov.au

Kirsten Whitworth  whitworth.kirsten.n@edumail.vic.gov.au

Janet Wilkin  wilkin.janet.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

 

 

Lunch Service

The school is using the services of CLASSROOM CUISINE to provide Student Lunches every MONDAY and FRIDAY. Orders must be completed and paid for ONLINE before 8.30 am SHARP on the day required.

OSHC Camp Australia

Oakleigh South Primary School Council have engaged CAMP AUSTRALIA to manage all aspects of the school’s O.S.H.C., including Before, After and Vacation Care.

Out of Hours Services

Oakleigh South Primary School venue is host to a variety of service providers. Please note that service providers are not managed or run by Oakleigh South Primary School, they hire our venue. Please use the link to find out further information to get in touch with their service.

Auskick – Oakleigh

www.aflauskick.com.au

Balmoral Calisthenics

www.balmoral.asn.au

Chesskids

http://www.chessclub.com.au/ormond.html

Cricket – Clayton District

www.claytondistrictcc.vic.cricket.com.au

Fit for Kids – Tennis & Golf

www.fitforkidsco.com.au

G.K.R Karate

http://www.gkrkarate.com/indexr4/HOME/-/-/-/8

International School of Japanese

www.misj.org.au

Jewish R.E – United Jewish Education Board

www.ujeb.org.au

Oakleigh Dragons Football Krushers

www.oakleighdragons.org.au

Oakleigh South Netball Club Oakleigh Jets U11’s

http://osnc.com.au/schedule/jets-11/

Pilates – Ricki Eckhous

www.facebook.com/pilateswithricki/

Purple Dog Mosaics

www.purpledog.com.au

Sing for Fun – Lisa Maxwell Cripps

www.web.facebook.com/SingForFunSessions

Soccer – Grasshopper Soccer

www.grasshoppersoccer.com.au

The Music School – Keyboard & Guitar

www.themusicschool.com.au

 

 

Parent Group

All parents are welcome to be involved with their children’s education and the Parent Group provides an opportunity for members to work together to further the interests of their children by:

  • Encouraging social interaction among parents and families.
  • Providing resources and facilities for the pupils through fundraising activities

Examples of the wonderful social events and fundraising events organised by parent group are:

  • Prep Welcome BBQ
  • Outdoor Movie Night
  • Easter Hamper Raffle
  • Fete Craft / Mother’s Day Stall
  • Family Night Out – i.e Inflatable World
  • Father’s Day Breakfast (proceeds donated to charity)
  • Trivia Night
  • School Disco
  • Giving Tree (donated to Salvation Army)
  • Christmas Stall

Meetings are advertised in the school newsletter, however we also have a large team of helpers that assist during events and fundraisers who do not attend meetings. Please feel free to contact us if you’d like to find out further information.

Joe Megas & Carlyn Backers

Parent Group

osparentgroup67@gmail.com

Policies

Oakleigh South Primary School has developed policies in line with department regulations. They have all been approved by School Council. The following policies are available for your perusal at the office: External Providers Policy, Duty of Care Policy & Procedures, Administration of Medication Policy, Critical incident Plan Policy, Accidents & Incidental Reporting Policy, Working with Children Check Policy. The following policies are available via the links below:

School Council

School Council Membership 2017

The first meeting for the new “School Council Year” was conducted on Wednesday 26th April. All Office Bearers have been elected and all 15 positions filled. Joe Megas is on School Council as a Parent Group Delegate. She will be able to attend all meetings and report on the Parent Group operations. A Schedule 7: School Council Members has been published here.

School Council Elections

School Council Election Results 2017

At the close of nominations, Thursday 16th February 2017, in the PARENT CATEGORY, there were 4 Vacancies and 4 Nominations, so no Election will be held. Congratulations to our new School Council members.

The PARENT NOMINEES (in alphabetical order) are:

Arabella DANIELS
Campbell DAVIES
Samantha DIPLARIS
Kate LIU

The DET NOMINEES and successful candidates are:

Erik ALBERS
Sue JACKSON

TOTAL MEMBERS 15 (Parents 8, DET 5, Community 2)

PARENTS

Sam Diplaris (President) – Term end date March 2019

Kate Rawlinson (Secretary) – Term end date March 2018

Joe Megas (Parent Group) – Term end date March 2019

Andrew Holman – Term end date March 2018

Margherita Floris – Term end date March 2018

Arabella Daniels – Term end date March 2019

Campbell Davies – Term end date March 2019

Mel Dear – Term end date March 2018

DET

Ron Cantlon (Principal) – Term end date March 2019

Sue Jackson – Term end date March 2019

Erik Albers – Term end date March 2019

Anthony Savva – Term end date March 2018

Julie Kearney – Term end date March 2018

COMMUNITY

Kate Liu (Treasurer) – Term end date March 2019

Nikki Kaur – Term end date March 2019

 

 

 

Appendix A: School Council Elections Information for Parents

School Council Elections 2017

What is a school council and what does it do?

All government schools in Victoria have a school council. They are legally formed bodies that are given powers to set the key directions of a school within centrally provided guidelines. In doing this, a school council is able to directly influence the quality of education that the school provides for its students.

Who is on the school council?

There are three possible categories of membership:

  • A mandated elected Parent category. More than one third of the total members must be from this category. Department of Education and Early Childhood Development (DET) employees can be Parent members at their child’s school as long as they are not employed at the school.
  • A mandated elected DET employee category. Members of this category may make up no more than one third of the total membership of school council. The principal of the school is automatically one of these members.
  • An optional Community member category. Its members are appointed by a decision of the council because of their special skills, interests or experiences. DET employees are not eligible to be Community members.

The term of office for all members is two years. Half the members must retire each year, creating vacancies for the annual school council elections.

Why is Parent membership so important?

Parents on school councils provide important viewpoints and have valuable skills that can help shape the direction of the school.

Those parents who become active on a school council find their involvement satisfying in itself and may also find that their children feel a greater sense of belonging.

How can you become involved?

The most obvious way is to vote in the elections, which are held in Term 1 each year. However, ballots are only held if more people nominate as candidates than there are positions vacant.

In view of this, you might seriously consider

  • standing for election as a member of the school council
  • encouraging another person to stand for election.

Do I need special experience to be on school council?

No. What you do need is an interest in your child’s school and the desire to work in partnership with others to help shape the school’s future.

What do you need to do to stand for election?

The principal will issue a notice and call for nominations following the commencement of Term 1 each year. All school council elections must be completed by the end of March.

If you decide to stand for election, you can arrange for someone to nominate you as a candidate or you can nominate yourself in the Parent category.

DET employees whose child is enrolled in a school in which they are not employed are eligible to nominate as parents for the school council where their child is enrolled

Once the nomination form is completed, return it to the principal within the time stated on the notice of election. You will receive a Nomination Form Receipt in the mail following the receipt of your completed nomination.

If there are more nominations received than there are vacancies on council, a ballot will be conducted during the two weeks after the call for nominations has closed.

Remember

  • Ask at the school for help if you would like to stand for election and are not sure what to do
  • Consider standing for election to council this year
  • Be sure to vote in the elections.

Contact the principal for further information.

Schedule 4: Notice of Election and Call for Nominations

An election is to be conducted for members of the School Council of Oakleigh South Primary School

Nomination forms may be obtained from the school and must be lodged by 4.00 pm on Thursday 16th February, 2017.

The ballot will close at 4.00 pm on Thursday 2nd March, 2017.

Following the closing of nominations a list of the nominations received will be posted at the school. The terms of office, membership categories and number of positions in each membership category open for election are as follows:

MEMBERSHIP CATEGORY: Parent member

TERM OF OFFICE: From the day after the date of the declaration of the poll in 2017to and inclusive of the date of the declaration of the poll in 2019

NUMBER OF POSITIONS: 4

MEMBERSHIP CATEGORY: DET employee member

TERM OF OFFICE: From the day after the date of the declaration of the poll in 2017to and inclusive of the date of the declaration of the poll in 2019

NUMBER OF POSITIONS: 2

If the number of nominations is less than the number of vacancies, a notice to that effect and calling for further nominations will be posted in a prominent position at the school.

Ron Cantlon

Principal

Term Dates & Bells

Term Dates

2017

Last day of each term is a 2.30pm finish

Term 1: 

30 January (school teachers start)

31 January (school students start) to 31 March

Term 2:

18 April (Tuesday) to 30 June

Term 3:

17 July to 22 September

Term 4: 

9 October to 21 December (2.30pm school students finish)

22 December (school teachers finish)

Bell Session & Times

8.45am Bag bell

9.00am Start of day bell

9.00am Session 1

9.50am Session 2

10.40am Start of recess bell

11.10am End of recess bell

11.10am Session 3

12.00pm Session 4

12.50pm Lunch eating time bell

1.00pm Start of lunch

1.50pm End of lunch bell

12.50pm Session 5

2.40pm Session 6

3.30pm End of day bell

Tiqbiz & QKR!

OSPS uses Tiqbiz for important school announcements and QKR for online payments for camps/excursions/purchasing etc. Every OSPS family will need to download Tiqbiz & QKR onto their phones, tablets, laptops or PC’s.

Uniforms PSW

School Uniforms are provided by Primary School Wear (PSW) New uniforms can be purchased form their outlet store in Mills Street, Cheltenham or online.

PSW Cheltenham

15 Mills St, Cheltenham VIC 3192 (03) 9768 0332

PSW Cheltenham

Uniforms Second Hand

Oakleigh South Primary School parent volunteers run Second Hand Uniform Shop which is located in the junior wing. If you’d like to volunteer to assist please contact the office. Washed and suitable donations of uniform can be handed in at the office. Opening hours are: 8.45am to 9.00am on Wednesdays and Fridays.

X